Customsettings.in webservice call is not working

Sep 7, 2011 at 4:27 PM
Edited Sep 7, 2011 at 6:48 PM

I am new to web services and I am trying to call it from my customsettings.ini file but I can not seem to get it to work

I am trying to display a task sequence based on the group a user is in. Here is what i have so far but it does not seem to be calling the web service. Looking for some guidance

[Settings]
Priority=Default, SetTaskSequence, ShowTaskSequence
Properties=MyCustomProperty, IsUserGroupMemberAdmin

[SetTaskSequence]
WebService=http://mysebsite.com/Deployment%20Webservice/ad.asmx/IsUserGroupMember
Parameters=Username,GroupName
Username=%UserID%
GroupName=IT-Admins
Method=GET
IsUserGroupMemberAdmin=string

[ShowTaskSequence]
SubSection=Admin-%IsUserGroupMemberAdmin%

[Admin-True]
WizardSelectionProfile=admintasksequences

Just a note I set up the Deployment Webservice for windows authentication (all others are disabled) and authorization rules are set to a group I am in.

Sep 7, 2011 at 7:40 PM
Edited Sep 7, 2011 at 7:52 PM

I ended up changing around things and now I get a response from web services : 200 OK but I can not get the value back.  I thought IsUserGroupMemberAdmin=string would get the value but it gets nothing. What am missing???

[Settings]
Priority=Default, SetTaskSequence, ShowTaskSequence
Properties=MyCustomProperty, IsUserGroupMemberAdmin, Username, Groupname

[Default]

Username=%UserID%
Groupname=IT-Admin

[SetTaskSequence]

WebService=http://mdtwds.bc.edu/Deployment%20Webservice/ad.asmx/IsUserGroupMember
Parameters=Username,GroupName
IsUserGroupMemberAdmin=string

[ShowTaskSequence]
SubSection=Admin-%IsUserGroupMemberAdmin%

[Admin-True]
WizardSelectionProfile=admintasksequences

Sep 7, 2011 at 10:45 PM

Ok I finally figured it out. IsUserGroupMember returns a boolean not a string so you need to use that instead. I also rearranged things around a bit. This is the customsettings.ini that got this working:

[Settings]